Quantic, Mulatu, and Suite for Ma Dukes Triumph at WWA.

By Mochilla | February 10, 2010

Last Saturday was a big night for music. At the Garage in Highbury and Islington, many gathered to celebrate and enjoy the wicked performances from this year’s Worldwide Awards 2010. The line-up boasted names such as Robert Glasper (who has worked with Bilal, Mos Def, Common, Talib Kweli, Q-Tip, Slum Village, J Dilla, Jay-Z, and many more.), Sbtrkt & Sampha, Theophilus London, and more.

It was an evening for celebrating as the WWA announced some very familiar names as winners. We’ve had the privilege to work with three winners of this year’s WWA through special shows, screenings, and our unforgettable Timeless Concert Series.

Congrats to Mulatu Astatke & The Heliocentric: Inspiration Information Vol.3, Quantic and his Combo Barbaro: Tradition in Translation, and last but not least, Carlos Nino and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson: Suite for Ma Dukes.

The Sounds of VTech / Suite For Ma Dukes: Take Notice   

The Sounds of VTech / Memoria de Justinho by Quantic and his Combo Barbaro   

List of Winners:

Track of the Year 2010
1. Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo [Hot Flush]
2. Floating Points – Vacuum Boogie [Eglo]
3. Zed Bias feat. Tawiah – Further Away [CDR]
4. Shafiq Husayn feat. Fatima – Lil’ Girl [Plug Research]
5. Darkstar – Aidy’s Girl Is A Computer [Hyperdub]

Album of the Year 2010
1. Mulatu Astatke & The Heliocentrics – Inspiration Information Vol. 3 [Strut]
2. Martyn – Great Lengths [3024]
3. Lee Fields – My World [Truth & Soul]
4. Quantic and his Combo Barbaro – Tradition in Transition [Tru Thoughts]
5. Mos Def – The Ecstatic [Downtown]

Jazz Album of the Year 2010
1. Robert Glasper – Double Booked [Blue Note]
2. Matthew Halsall – Colour Yes [Gondwana]
3. Miguel Atwood Ferguson & Carlos Nino – Suite For Ma Dukes [Mochilla]
4. Harry Whitaker – Thoughts (Past and Present) [Smalls Records]
5. Build An Ark – LOVE Part 1 [Kindred Spirits]

Maida Vale Session of the Year 2010
Floating Points Ensemble

John Peel Play More Jazz Award 2010
Four Tet

Lifetime Achievement Award 2010
Gil Scott-Heron